Popcorn and Peanut Butter sandwiches

I always awaken hoping to get certain things accomplished.  Monday used to be my day for cleaning house, but this has not been the case since about 6 months into my last pregnancy and 11 weeks to date since Sawyer’s birth.  After getting the kids and myself fed, it’s time for diaper changes and eventually a nap for Sawyer.   Sammy keeps asking me to play race track with him and that it’s snack time. 

I manage to hand write a note of gratitude to my dear friend whose ministry to women has impacted my life in many wonderful ways.  She was honored yesterday for her 10 years of ministry but I was not able to attend.  I was grateful to get this accomplished between getting an infant to nap and my toddler wanting this or that from me, including getting a dead bug out the front door (I don’t know where he found it….).  My note to my friend wasn’t exactly what I had intended to write, or maybe some of it was, but it’s hard to write when your thoughts are constantly being interrupted! 

We were in Target on Saturday and I found out my Sammy likes popcorn; they sometimes have it for snack at his MDO school.  So today I popped some microwave popcorn for snack (his leftover’s from Saturday were rather stale).  He thought this was great and we enjoyed some ginger ale with it (this seems to appease both of our desire for a fizzy drink without the caffeine).  I had promised him I’d play race track after snack time – anytime I’m on the floor with him seems to make him  happy!  Which makes me happy!  We had peanut butter sandwiches for lunch today – enjoyed by us both for it’s simplicity!  I had offered Batman soup which I expected him to choose, but he wanted PB&J. 

Today I did manage to get the kitchen floor swept, a load of towels and sheets folded and a load washed, along with the usual bed making and dish washing.  Nothing extraordinary.  However, I did manage to spend some time looking into my sweet infants eyes and talking with him, and Sammy also enjoyed some time with his brother.  Sawyer lights up when Sammy’s around and loves the attention he gets from him.  It’s such a delight to see.   I also checked on our dear neighbor, Nanny Bibb and spent some time talking with my Mom on the phone.  I was thankful for my DH Tony grilling my spicy chicken and he and I managed to spend time visiting tonight after the kids went to bed. 

I want to continue to remember that my agenda is not what’s most important, but that loving on my family in various ways is my highest calling.  And that time with them should not be hurried, but rather unhurried and given my full attention.  I’m grateful for what my Heavenly Father is teaching me during this season of my life and that He is not in a hurry for me to get it right! 

Leave a Reply

