Slowing down the hurry in me

This is my 3rd day in a row to blog and I’m enjoying this!  I’m still working my way around this blog page and will be glad when I figure out how to add pictures.  I think tonight I finally got the time corrected for my posts.  All a learning experience.  Yes, I’m a newbie.

While working on my blog presentation I continued to go over the title of my blog – against all hurry.   When I can figure out how I got that title there back in May, I’ll probably change it to “against all hurry and worry.”  But for now, we’ll focus in on the hurry.  This is what I’ve learned this week thus far: there’s no need for me to be in a hurry.  I’m speaking to the daily ebb and flow of my life.  Emergencies might hold a different response.  Several times this week, no, let’s go back to include last week as well, I have caught myself hurrying.   When I’m in the middle of this hurrying, whether it’s to get out of the house at a certain time inorder to be somewhere on time, or even if it’s getting lunch together for me and the babes,  I’ve sense the tension building all between my shoulders to where they continue to inch towards my ears!  So I stop myself; I take  a deep breath; quickly evaluate the situation and make any adjustments needed; lower my shoulders OUT of my ears; remind myself there’s no need to hurry (my mind is still in the process of adjusting to this truth); and then I continue on in peace.  Now, this process occurs several times until I reach my “destination.”  But each time I’ve reached my destination, everthing has been OK on the other end – meaning, there was no need for me to hurry.  I’m reading something inbetween the lines of these words – perfectionism and pleasing others.  I’m not surprised they are involved in the hurry in me for I’ve known them for a while.  Yes, hurry has been causing my anxiety and it will be a process of letting the hurry go.  I’ve experienced some victory (goodness, merely acknowledging it and seeking to turn it around is progress!) and am so grateful for that.  It will not only benefit me, but also my family and those I encounter.  My hope is to carry the peace of Jesus that resides in me by the Holy Spirit to flow out of me to others so that He may be made known.  In John 14:27 Jesus said “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  And to that I say, “Amen.”

Shalom

Leave a Reply

