The Blessing of Leisure

Ah, today Sawyer and I slept in until 9:30amish.  This was a gift.  Our sweet Sammy had (and still is) spent the night over at his MeMe’s house.  This is the only chance I get to sleep in – I don’t do it on purpose (for to me, sleeping in is a waste of time….I’m in the process of redefining “waste of time”), but it happens.  I had scheduled a babysitter for Sawyer so that I could have lunch with my dear friend, Mary.  She and I usually get together anywhere from once a week to once a month, depending on what’s going on in our lives.  Lately it has been once a month!  So it was a delight to have lunch with her and catch up on what’s going on in her life.  Webster’s defines “leisurely” as without haste; UNHURRIED.  Oh, what a blessing it was to have a leisurely lunch with a close friend.  It made getting my oil changed this afternoon (which is not normally a favorite task of mine) all the more pleasant because I had taken time for myself. 

What I like and admire about my friend Mary is that she is accepting of others wherever they are in life.  She welcomes others with open arms and makes them feel comfortable.  She’s also a “safe” person to be with; not only can I trust her with anything I tell her, but I also know she won’t judge me and she will speak the truth to me in love when needed.    She’s also a Mary Kay director so she always looks well-put together.  She inspires me to love others unconditionally, to be a good friend, and to look my best!  Thank you, my friend!  “I thank my God every time I remember you.”  Philippians 1:3

I was also blessed today with some leisurely time with my husband; to sit and visit about our week and look into each others eyes.  He knows me well and still loves me.  He is a joy to be with and I’m blessed to have him as my life-long partner.  “I thank God every time I remember you.”  Phil. 1:3. 

Leave a Reply

