These are a few of my favorite things….food

I’m quite in the holiday mood!  My Bose radio in the house and car are tuned to 106.5 for 24 hour Christmas music.  So far my family has had the pleasure of enjoying me singing to “Feliz Navidad!”  My Christmas mugs are out for morning coffee and evening hot tea.  And since the cold weather has blown in, Sammy and I have enjoyed hot chocolate in our gingerbread mugs. 

I thought I would try to list a few of my favorite things each day or so until Christmas day.  The topic will vary.  It will be interesting to see what develops! 

Today is a few of my favorite things….food, specifically homemade.  Since the cold weather blew through I picked up our favorite soup fixings yesterday for 7 Can Soup.  My dear friend, Leslie D. passed this to me many years ago and we’ve been making it ever since!  It freezes well.  Also, I’m changing some of my food habits and picked up my beef (frozen) at the Granary.  It is from Darby Farms which is in East Texas.  Tony was cooking when I walked in and it had a great aroma, crumbled up well and Tony said probably had a little more fat than the lean cut you might usually choose.  Tasted great.  Here’s our recipe:

7 Can Soup

  •  3 Cans Cambell’s Minestrone 
  • 2 Cans Ranch Style beans – drained and rinsed
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 can Stewed tomatoes (we chop up or puree 
  • 1 lb. beef, cooked and drained
  • 1 onion chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Cook beef and onion; salt and pepper to taste.  Dump cans into soup pot (be sure to drain and rinse ranch style beans – changes the taste if you don’t..).  Let simmer for 30 minutes on low.  Good with corn chips or corn muffins and can add cheese on top.  Freezes well. 

The reading bug is still biting, so I’m off to read! 

Leave a Reply

