An Unashamed Mouse

“The night before Christmas when all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse….except in the Stone house.”  That’s the version of the Night Before Christmas that I’ve been reading to my children.  I knew last week, even after all of mine, er, rather Tony’s hard work to limit the mouse escapades in our house, that we indeed had not one, but TWO mice.  I think the first one got zinged in the mouse trap under the sink.  The 2nd one is still on the prowl.  A few days ago I was kneeling in the kitchen to give Sammy a good morning hug as that mouse UNASHAMEDLY skidadelled a 90 degree angle under my cabinets faster than I could get my “eek” out! 

I’ve had some humorous thoughts.  Instead of “To Kill a Mockingbird” how about “To Kill a Mouse.”  “Of Mice and Men.”  Father help me, “Three Blind Mice.”  What will I do if there’s  a 3rd!  Are these things reproducing!???  And to think when all this began, I had rented the movie Ratatoulie (sp??) – thankgoodness Sammy didn’t like it (nor did I…). 

Leave a Reply

