Making clean-up fun

The toys were beginning to take over the living room and even though the Chevy Chase Christmas tree is gone, we are still wall to wall here!  So in an effort to get some of those things back into the boys room, I instituted a Treasure Hunt – which to my delight, delighted my Sammy!  He was all on it!  Our first hunt was for everything with wheels – into the box!  Next came everything with 4 legs!  To this category we threw in toys with 2 legs – people.  Then I did a miscellaneus hunt – dare these things secretly be removed from the house??  Oh, the fun we had!  And it is obvious that my boys like to play with wheels and animals.  I’m checkin’ out some toys that could mysteriously disappear without so much as a word.  The two biggest finds of the day were Sammy’s “most favorite” car (I had no idea…) AND the “Batroller” (Sammy’s pronunciation for our TV controller).  The controller was found in the midst of many toys in the closet mess.  And we know our Sweet Sawyer Wayne was the culprit – he thinks it’s funny to run off with it!  No doubt was having his own personal pleasure of knowing where it was while daily I looked here and there for it.

So this morning at 3:30ish, both boys were crying.  I’m not sure what happened first – Sammy rolled onto the floor and woke up Sawyer, or Sawyer woke up crying and this caused Sammy to hit the floor.  Either way, I found myself in their room putting Sawyer back down.  Sammy dreamily says to me in his big-boy voice – “Momma, I knew we’d find that batroller.  That silly Sawyer Wayne.  But Momma, we didn’t find any feet. ”  I said “What?”  – “Feet, Momma.  We didn’t find any feet – like at the end of your legs.”  I almost snort-laughed!  Where did he get that???  Then he went right back to sleep.  I love it when he makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

