My helper

My boys are great helpers.   Of course, since Sammy is 4, he has some chores that he helps me with and does a great job and normally with a great attitude.  I had stopped having him do his chores (for what reason, I’m not sure!) but picked this up again over the weekend while doing some reading on scheduling for home management.  Even Sawyer Wayne, not yet 2, is able to be my helper by putting dirty clothes in the hamper, putting clothes in the washer (while on his stool!), and shoes in the basket, toy pick-up – simple instructions. 

During my bible reading this morning in Psalm 54, I was reminded that GOD is my help and He is the one who sustains me.  I’m grateful for that message of encouragement this morning as I’m needing His help to do the things He has asked of me – and not being afraid.  Shaking fear of man will probably be a life-long pursuit for me, but if I’m fearing man, then I’m placing their thoughts about me above God’s.  So  this morning, I appreciated the reminder through repentance that God is the only one I need to fear.  If He is for me, who is against me?  Well, it matters not.  And He sustains me – not caffeine, nor my drug of choice – diet vanilla coke from Sonic, nor 7-8 hours of sleep, uninterrupted sleep.  Sustains.  Holds onto.  Strengthens.  Jehovah Jireh in every way.

THe other passage that is sticking with me today is further down in Psalm 54 “I will sacrifice a freewill offering to you; I will praise your name, O Lord, for it is good.”  So upon laying my burdens at His feet, I’m choosing to sacrifice these things to Him this morning, and watch in amazement as He does more than I can ask or imagine:           Service, Love, Grace, Mercy, Compassion, Tenderness, JOY, and Thankfulness. 

He is my God and I will forever praise Him!

Shalom

Leave a Reply

