Where are all the trees???

Today was the day.  After a leisurely lunch at McDonalds it was time to head for the Danville Tree Farm.  We were delighted to run into some friends of ours there as we all were able to ride the tractor to see what we could find in the back lot of….where are all the trees???  As I saw the lot we usually found our tree in, there were maybe 20 standing….well, they must be going around the corner to the next lot.  No.  This was it.  In my mind I thought “There’s really no need for us to get off – we might as well ride on back!”  But this is my Sammy’s favorite thing about Christmas thus far, riding the tractor.  Sammy enjoyed going on a tree hunt with our friends while Tony and I looked around only to find 8-10 foot trees.  I sent him back to the tractor dude as he was loading up to make sure “Is this it??” – “Yep.  This is it.  We close tomorrow.”  Hmmm.  After riding back to the front without a tree, we saw two small trees we walked to and checked out – they were leaning…really leaning.  So we left without a tree.   NOTE TO SELF – schedule this earlier next year!

Here we are on the tractor headed for the back lot!
Here we are on the tractor headed for the back lot!
Me and the kids checking out a tree...can you tell it's over 6'??  I think it was 8'!!  Now that's a Chevy Chase Christmas tree in our house!
Me and the kids checking out a tree...can you tell it's over 6'?? I think it was 8'!! Now that's a Chevy Chase Christmas tree in our house!
Our friends found their tree!  Do you see any others around it????
Our friends found their tree! Do you see any others around it????
They are great brothers - aren't they cute!!?
They are great brothers - aren't they cute!!?
Now THAT'S the size tree I wanted!!!  I think they didn't quite make the cut...no pun intended!
Now THAT'S the size tree I wanted!!! I think they didn't quite make the cut...no pun intended!
So after talking with Sammy we headed for a tree lot near the mall.  I explained to him that I could only spend so much on a tree and that if we didn’t find one within our budget, we’d have to use the “tree in the box” at home.  I found a great $15 tree and Sammy liked the $25 tree, but in the end he decided we’d do the tree in the box.  So to home we came, I put up the tree in the box – and he loved it. 

Perhaps I’m looking for this perfect experience at the tree farm that I have yet to experience.  My kids will smile at the camera.  Every one will be happy.   Well, maybe next year.  We’ll try again.  A little earlier.

Our kids were asleep at 7:30  – wow.  Now that’s a rare blessed experience!  Although now Sammy is up and not wanting to go back to bed (he fell asleep on the couch while I was putting Sawyer down after he had a meltdown over pudding.)  That will be no fun.   Hopefully he will enjoy the “snowflakes” Dad just finished attaching to the ceiling…nope.  They’re monsters.  We’ve yanked em off the ceiling and now they are both howling at the moon – even with the door closed.  I’m sorry – did someone say this mom and dad gig was suppose to be fun???  Ugh.

Well, it took me forever to get my photos right.  My Sammy has just walked in to apologize for his attitude – this is good.  Poor kid – he has problems with his mouth like his mom and dad.

Leave a Reply

