Reminding Myself

Some days just simply don’t start the way you intend. I got up around 6:30 and that’s when my SW started to stir (I had been putting him back in bed with me to fall asleep so he didn’t wake up Sammy.) After a few minutes, Sammy comes out their room, announcing he’s ready to get up. So there we all are – up early and a Momma who has not had her coffee.

My kids know the routine. Mom MUST have her coffee before anything else. And since they could not play quietly at my feet, they were sent to play in their room until I could down some coffee and read some scripture and utter a meaningful, albeit short and sweet, prayer or two.

We’ve been doing bible story time before any “show” comes on, but that didn’t go well, so they got sent back to their room to play until I cooked breakfast. My plan at breakfast time was to begin reading the book of John, which we read a short excerpt, but forgot to practice our scripture memory. Actually, Sammy has done so well, in a matter of a few short days of memorizing Mark 9:35, that I think w’ere going to go to the scripture for obeying your parents…

Our sheets are changed and clothes put away. I’ve read to SW and put him down for a short nap. He was a little reluctant, but after a few readings in his baby bible, some loving and rocking, he was not sad at all for me to lay him down in his crib – on his clean sheets. That must feel so good!

Sammy is out playing with Max. We are going to be dog sitting longer than I wanted. So I will pray for my attitude adjustment on that! I hear Sammy kicking something in the yard, and I’m trusting it’s not Max! They do have some good times together.

In my scripture reading this morning, I was meditating on Colossians 1:13 For he has rescued (me) from the dominion of darkness adn brought (me) into the kingdom of the Son he loves. In whom (I) have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. And 1:28 &29, We proclaim him, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone perfect in Christ. To this end I loabor, struggling with all his energy, which so powerfully works in me.

I have much reason to rejoice – I’ve been redeemed and I can proclaim him who his faithful in all things, to my family and others.

Now I have a dog to discipline. And a snack to make.

Leave a Reply

