Friday blessings

What our scenic route blessed us with - a lovely foal

What our scenic route blessed us with – a lovely foal

This morning we took off for the Huber backyard to do some shared gardening.  Dana is sharing her garden with Mother’s League members.  We took the scenic route since I missed a turn – and this was what we were blessed with. 

Sammy and Sawyer learning to garden
Sammy and Sawyer learning to garden
Saw Wayne enjoying the slide off the deck
Saw Wayne enjoying the slide off the deck
Protecting the surviving watermelon plant
Protecting the surviving watermelon plant
I know basically nothing about gardening.  But I want to learn and enjoy this with the boys.  Today we planted squash, peppers (from our neighbors), carrots (per Sammy’s request), and dill.  We’ll be potting some basil, lavender, mint and more dill.  I look forward to the fragrance!
All the kids did well with just a few incidents.  And we started early enough that we endured only about 1/2 hour of sticky-humid-heat.  Father definately blessed us with a morning breeze. 
What I have ALWAYS enjoyed about belonging to our Longview Mother’s Leaugue is the blessing of learning from this beautiful women.  We are all different – having varied interests, talents, personalities, etc.  But I love being with these ladies.  Kathleen taught me something today – now I have to remember what it was! HA!
Thanks, Dana, for sharing your garden space!
2 thoughts on “Friday blessings

  1. nice butt shot 🙂

    i had a great time, but i was thinking i need to have a seperate space just for the kids. my mind is usually so consumed with the pressure to actually grow FOOD and getting it done right that the learning and experimentation that the kids need and want gets pushed aside cause i don’t want them to “mess” it up.

    we’ll see if i can convince my husband to prepare another spot. 🙂

    1. Yes! It was a great time. A garden for the kids is a GREAT idea! I struggle with the same thing (getting the job done “right” and “quickly” vs. allowing the kids room to learn and grow along with me) – it is a process and our recognizing that helps us move forward!

      And thank you for reminding me yesterday that it takes the practice of trying something new (gardening, for me) to learn through my mistakes! I’m still a recovering perfectionist and the idea of “failing” sometimes keeps me from trying new things! Thanks for allowing our family to learn in your garden space!

Leave a Reply

