Family, Fresh Eggs & Buster

This weekend was relaxing…that I can remember! HA! 

I’m still in the deep purging/flinging/freecycling/goodwilling effort to get our office-turned-guest room ready for NEXT MONDAY!  Yes!  June 1 our Pumpjacks Baseball player will be here!  Our whole house is excited, despite the mass effort it is taking.  It reminds me that I respond well under time-pressure and will get it done.  

I’m TRYING to have fun in the midst of the time cruch!  Today the boys helped me put a huge container of pennies into their savings jugs.  Sammy thought it was the best game ever!  So I would consider that a score for Mom in the fun department!

This weekend we met with Tony’s family to celebrate mine and Dad Stone’s birthday (83!).  The boys did great at Ryan’s and Sammy actually didn’t touch anything on the buffet!  Yeah for him!   This is the child that feels compelled to pick up the vegetable sprayer at Walmart….

This week was shopping week and I have started buying farm fresh eggs again.  They just can’t be beat (no pun intended :)) and the “Egg lady” is actually a member of our church!  She laughed when I told her she’s in my cell phone as “Eggs”.  Don’t these look great?  

Farm Fresh Eggs from White Oak
Farm Fresh Eggs from White Oak

It seems to me I’ve been a bit ADD with this purging stuff.  So when I looked out my kitchen window and realized my bird feeder was rotting and missing a few places, AND that I hadn’t fed the birds in MANY months, I told him he could toss the feeder and pull up the post.   Here’s a photo of the kids helping.  The hole it left has become quite interesting to them!  And Tony is quite glad to not have to mow around it!  Don’t worry, birds!  We’ll find another spot to feed you from some time later!

Boys helping Dad pull up a post!
Boys helping Dad pull up a post!

So as I was playing with the boys, we came across Buster.  And Sammy sent him sailing through the air…and this is where he landed. 

Buster on the roof
Buster on the roof

Sammy chose Buster as one of his reward toys.  I couldn’t allow myself to let him choose the snake, but I was ok with this lizardy thing.  The name Buster came from a dog they were able to enjoy at a ML friend’s daughter’s BD party.  Probably about 3 weeks ago I came across Buster…as I was pulling a puzzle box down from a perch.  I was just a little jumpy at the sight of him, not knowing he was “hiding” up there.  That day I won the “Best Mom Award” for finding Sammy’s fav toy.  A few days ago as I was washing dishes, I wondered what this “thing” was in our yard….and then realized it was Buster.  It looks like he weathered the rain last night fairly well.  I love having boys!

One thought on “Family, Fresh Eggs & Buster

Leave a Reply

