The new security officer for baseball

Sammy, the new security officer
Sammy, the new security officer

Like father, like son.  Sammy got ahold of dad’s black socks and shoes late last night – cutest thing I’ve seen!  So he put his “gear” next to his bed this morning so he could get ready to go to “work.”  He’s got his cuffs, phone, and of course, baseball hat.  He’s ready to go do some security.

Studying the alphabet with roadkill – on to the letter A

On one of our recent morning walks to the pond, I spotted an Armadillo carcass over the fence.  So the boys and I went to study it from afar.  Sammy wanted to check them out on the computer, so we found some great info and photos. 

So it’s time for us to move to the next letter in his name; after about 4 weeks on the letter S.  Am I really going to be able to pull off homeschooling???

Apples – we eat a lot of apples around here.  Our favorite are the small organic apples we get in our produce pick-up from Lindale.  My other favorite are braeburn and fuji.  This morning I had one of my fav quick breakfasts – 2 scoops of cottage cheese with a bit of Stevia mixed in, 1/2 apple cut up, sprinkled with cinnamon.  It was made perfect with a piece of buttered Spelt bread my friend Judy shared with me.

Alamo – I recently picked up a Texas Monthly Magazine and read about a romantic weekend getaway in San Antonio.  I’ve always enjoyed this town and am praying to find a way to get at least Tony and I there for a few days alone.  Oh, another A – word.

Alone – where I found myself most of Thursday.  I had coffee and computer time at my fav Books and Coffee in Kilgore,

 

Back patio of Books and Coffee
Back patio of Books and Coffee

then to the movie to see Angels (another A word!) and Demons, then to McAlister’s for some soup and tea.  Delightful.

My view from McAlister's Patio
My view from McAlister's Patio

Anne of Green Gables – this is truely one of my most favorite movies.  Last night I was surfing for a recipe and ran across the Anne of Green Gables Cookbook.  Just thinking about Anne give me a mental visual of the fields of green that surrounded her and helps me breathe. 

After – After the baseball game last night, we were treated to Friday night fireworks – my favorite! 

Fireworks at Driller Baseball Park after 2009 opening game
Fireworks at Driller Baseball Park after 2009 opening game

 

Attack – that’s what me and the kids are about to do to our vehicle.  It is atrocious inside and out!  So we’ll make it a fun clean-up project this morning by throwing some water and bubbles onto the scene.

Always – My prayer for my boys is that they will always love each other and be the best of friends.

Two great kids that happen to be brothers
Two great kids that happen to be brothers

Join us as we travel through the letter A!  Hopefully more to follow.

Viola – from office, aka dumping ground to guest bedroom

Well, here it is – the mid-way flinging/purging/goodwilling/freecycling effort in our 15 year old office/dumping ground

Before - office and "dumping ground" for 15 years
Before - office and "dumping ground" for 15 years

To the guest bedroom for the next 2 months for our East Texas PumpJacks baseball player – Chad Keefer, #34.  Which speaking of, they won their first game tonight!  Way to go! 

Viola - spare bedroom
Viola - spare bedroom

This took a good two weeks of constant effort. Constant.  Every day.   Funny thing is, cleaning out this room helped me shed a few other “hot spots” (as the FlyLady would say) around the house.  For several years I’ve been bummed about this room – we’d clean it up/out and it would go back right to where it was.  In fact, when my friend, Michelle, saw it, there was a place to walk from the door to the computer.  I’ve had many a conversation with my Heavenly Father about when were we (meaning He and I) going to get rid of this crap.  And the day couldn’t come soon enough – it just didn’t come as I thought it would/should/could.   It was my beloved husband’s idea to host a player – so trusting my God-given “umbrella” I helped make it happen (for there was no other place to put the boy).  So essentially, Father blessed me with an opportunity to get rid of the crap, and in turn, for it to bless someone else (the crap that left, and the room it made).  So like Him.

Many thanks to my “ruthless” Mother’s League friends, Sarah and Faydra, for helping me accomplish a great deal in 2 1/2 hours – their help organizing non-crap things was inspiring and motivating!