Recipe Sharing

I love recipe sharing!  Where would I be if folks didn’t share their recipes?  A friend of mine has a funny story about actually stealing a recipe from a family member b/c she refused to share this wonderful pie recipe (note to self:  get that recipe!)!  But this friend of mine ALWAYS has a funny story at hand!  Anyhow, on with the recipes!

A bit of background.  Turkey meatloaf is my family’s FAVorite – it rotates on about every 2 weeks.  I’ve about got it memorized.  I got the recipe off Recipezaar (which I love, by the way – and I will only try something that has at least a 4 star rating with at least a handfull of folks trying it).  From there the recipe actually comes from a fresh turkey label – the gal tried it and loved it.  I’ve tweaked it a bit for our spicy tastes here – so I’ll give you the original and then leave notes about what I do.  Chicken Pot Pie is my Auntie’s MIL’s recipe (who went to see Jesus about 3-4 years ago now).  My Auntie usually makes her own crust – me, I need peace and quiet while trying to make a homemade crust.  So I buy the pilsburry crust near the biscuits.  Works great.  You can put chicken in it, or leave it with just vegies, or as I do, use left over roasted chicken.     Porcupine Meatballs – if this recipe doesn’t make it on here you can bet my kids have woke up and it’s time for me to get to work!  However, time given, I’ll post.  I’ve never heard of these until reading The Secret (By Beverly Lewis – she writes about Amish folks) – so I thought I’d google them and give them a try.  I was missing a few ingredients, so I substituted.  They were good, but I’d like to try with the tomato soup and chili powder.  AND, they are CUTE!  I see where they got their name.  Family ate them up, even needing to be tweaked!

Turkey Meatloaf

  1. 2 T butter
  2. 1 c. onion, chopped
  3. 3 cloves garlic, minced
  4. 1 1/4 lb. ground turkey *
  5. 1/2 c. breadcrumbs
  6. 1 egg
  7. 3/4 c. catsup **
  8. 2 t. Worcestershire sauce
  9. 3/4 t. salt ***
  10. 1/2 t. black pepper

Melt butter in skillet and cook onion and garlic in melted butter for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Place mixture in large bowl to cool for about 5 minutes

Combine turkey, bread crumbs, egg, 1/4 c. catsup, Worchestershire sauce, salt, and pepper with onion mixture

Press meatloaf into and 8X4 inch loaf pan and spread remaining ketchup on top ****

Bake in 350 degree oven for 50-55 minutes.  Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes.

NOTES: * I buy ground turkey that has fat and costs about 2.99.  I’ve tried the lower fat version (I think it’s the ground turkey breast meat) and it is drier when cooked.    **I use 1/4 c. in my mix, but then squirt ketchup on top when time comes.  ***Here I use Tony Chacheres (sp?) – about 1 tsp or 1 1/4 tsp – we like a little spicey.  ****I make mine in muffin tins – I did this b/c they were easy to store in the freezer for another meal.  However, I no longer have leftovers since I now am feeding 3 males!  My cook time this way is halfed, so they take about 25 minutes to cook – watch out, or they will burn if you leave them longer!

(Kids are still asleep)

Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Chicken Thighs – 6-8 , deboned  and  cut up(or any left-over chicken meat)
  2. 1 stalk celery, chopped
  3. 1 large onion, chopped
  4. 1 can Cream of Celery
  5. 1 can Cream of Chicken
  6. 1 can Cream of Onion
  7. Package of mixed frozen vegetables (corn/peas/carrots/green beans, or any combo you’d like)
  8. Crust – from scratch or purchased

Cook onion and celery (and minced garlic if you prefer, we do) in water until done.  Mix soups and heat (I added some water with chicken bouillon at this point – about 1/2 c. water and 3 bouillon).  Spoon meat in bottom of 9X13 pan, put veggies on top of that, then pour your soup over it.  If too thick, can add more chicken broth or water (I’d already done this).  Put your crust over top and seal on inside of the edge.  Cook at 350 for 30-45 minutes then cut down to 300 (Auntie’s note says that if you cook it too fast, the crust will get too brown). 

(Kids are indeed awake, but watching Dinosaur Train -perfect timing!)

Porcupine Meatballs (cut and paste works great – recipe came from http://southernfood.about.com)

1 pound lean ground beef

  • 1/3 cup uncooked long-grain rice
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • dash ground black pepper
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 cup water

Preparation:

Combine the ground beef, rice, onion, 1/4 cup of the water, salt, and pepper. Shape meat mixture into 12 to 15 meat balls. Combine the soup, chili powder, and water in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Add meatballs; reduce heat, cover, and simmer over very low heat for 1 hour. Stir occasionally.
Serves 4.  (Mind didn’t take this long to cook – I put mine in my deep skillet and my meatballs might have been smaller.  Don’t over cook, or you’ll lose the “porcupine” look!)
Well, I must run.  So happy to share.  Cooking for my fam is one of my favorite things (trying not to disdain cleaning up, though).  Enjoy with your family and come back and tell me what you think!
Happy Eating!
Leave a Reply

