Food: 5 MORE fridge/pantry staple items, + 5 more

I ran out of this yesterday after writing my first post on my 5 pantry or fridge staple items. POPCORN! We eat popcorn at least 3 times a week for snack or movie time. I forget the brand since I store it in a jar in the pantry. But we get it from our local health food store and it’s organic. I’ve fluctuated between it and the Food Club brand. There IS a difference in the quality and not that much difference in price. Even if I went with Orval Redenbaucher’s (whew – I probably just butchered that, but you know the brand), I think my organic is cheaper. I’ll check on that today since we’re making a trip for several staple items we are out of.

SO, here’s 6-10 in the pantry/fridge

6. Popcorn, organic
7. EGGS – we eat A LOT of eggs and when I made my fried rice last night, I was 1 egg shy and really prefer three in my fried rice when I don’t add meat
8. Corn tortillas – we do taquitos on Saturday morning or Sunday night, along with soft tacos with beans and spanish rice
9. Rice – still settling on brand, but usually choose to save money here; prices fluctuate, but I prefer Jasmine or Basmati, but usually get Food Brand, long grain
10. Dry beans – black or pinto, usually both. I have a great crock pot recipe for beans and do these at least once a week.

There it is! For me more than anyone else! Off to the store since we are out of some of our staples 🙂

UPDATE:  After trip to the Granary, my favorite organic popcorn is Arrowhead Mills, 1.75 lb. bag for $2.75.

12. Peanut Butter, Arrowhead Mills, sometimes organic, sometimes not

13.  Albacore Tuna in water

14.  Onions, i always cook with yellow onions, prefer the sweet ones, but right now, any onion I’ve brought home has made my eyes water :/

15.  Avocados, these use to be a luxury item, now they are a necessity!  And today, Walmart had them for 44 cents!

4 thoughts on “Food: 5 MORE fridge/pantry staple items, + 5 more

  1. Very funny that you kept going with this! Our favorite is buying plain popcorn kernels, mixing about 1/4 cup with sea salt and a splash of olive oil and then popping it using a brown paper bag in the microwave.

    Oh and I saw that you were checking out Garden of Life stuff… the founder was in my youth group in high school!

    1. Before our microwave died that’s how I had started doing making our popcorn as well. I was on a clean eating blog the other night and tried her recipe on the stove with olive oil and it came out great. Interesting info on Garden of Life; I hope to give them a buzz to see if they’ll send me samples of their RAW meal replacement before I spend $30 on something I might not like!

  2. When I make popcorn on the stovetop I really liked using Garden of Life’s coconut oil instead of olive. I also like subbing their coconut in bread recipes that call for oil of any kind.

    1. I’ve been wondering about coconut oil – it keeps catching my eye at the granary. I tried Grapeseed oil this week and Tony and I both liked that the popcorn seemed crisper. Thanks for that info 🙂

Leave a Reply

